The Conde-Charlotte Museum House, also known as the House of Five Flags, is located on Theatre Street adjacent to Fort Conde. It is beautifully furnished with period antiques depicting Mobile’s history under five flags: French, English, Spanish, American and Confederate. Visitors of the house and garden get a unique overview of the history of the Mobile area.
The French ruled the Mobile area from 1711-1763; the British from 1763-1780; and the Spanish from 1780-1812. The area became American in 1813 which continued until the beginning of the Civil War in1861when the area was part of the Confederacy.
The house, built by Jonathan and Elizabeth Kirkbride in 1850, was built on the site of an old jail, which dates back to 1822. A two-foot thick brick floor and doors from the jail remain on the site.
Using the house and collections as tools, trained guides offer an overview of the area`s history in an interesting 45 minute tour. The variety and authenticity of the furnishings and period antiques make this a charming museum.
www.condecharlottemuseum.com - 11813 - Conde-Charlotte Museum House